Eve Annunziato

SHUT-UP AND LISTEN December 8, 2008

Often times as a leader you need to know when to shut-up and listen – and boy, do I love to hear myself talk. But unbeknownst to most, and surprisingly to many, I love to listen even more. Well, let me rephrase, I adhere to wise, bright, sharp people with whom I respect. As for everyone else, I tend to ignore them and keep chatting…  Okay, so this is my effort to shut-up, by posting a recent blurb from my highly intelligence husband’s blog and sharing a portion of this week’s powerful message at church! I’ve been processing it all week and writing down ways in my journal to implement:

If YOU will change, EVERYTHING will change for you… – Jim Rohn

I love that quote. First of all, it reminds me that I can’t sit and wait for the world around me to change first – I have to be the one to change my life. I can’t wait for my friends, my family, my boss, the government, my doctor or anyone else to make it better – I have to do it. If I want something different today than yesterday, I have to DO something differently…

I have to THINK differently

I have to TALK differently

I have to ACT differently

I have to DECIDE differently

If I don’t, then today will be much like yesterday… This quote also reminds me that I have much more control over my life than I sometimes give credit. Life is a gift (although I know it’s hard sometimes). I need to ask myself each morning, “What am I going to do with this gift today?” Asking that question alone can change your life…

Change – I accept it, embrace it, and thrive in it; all part of my personal long road to redemption… And, in order to have sustainable revolutionary change, you need to shut-up, listen, and take action. Step one, begin to implement and execute a call to action from the message at my incredibly amazing church, where we’re being challenged to put Christ back in X-mas by accepting and implementing His way of thinking:

Everybody’s Welcome

Nobody’s Perfect

Anything’s Possible

You see, sometimes our twisted point of view looks like this:

Everybody’s Welcome (as long as you’re my close friend)

Nobody’s Perfect (except for me of course)

Anything’s Possible (thanks to my ability, gifts and talents!)

Arrogant and inappropriate – obviously. Unacceptable and delusional – of course. A deceitful lie – most certainly, but, a temptation non-the-less. So, I’m gonna shut-up and listen now, and focus on changing my way of thinking!

 

10 Responses to “SHUT-UP AND LISTEN”

  1. fullofboys Says:

    This is a great reminder! Sometimes I get so busy listening to everyone around me that I forget that my voice has something to say…and sometimes I get so caught up in listening to me that I miss God in it all!

  2. OH MY GOSH, EVE!!!!!!!!!!! This post is FABULOUS and is made especially for my bonus-son, Kyle….

    He’ll be reading this tonight when he gets off of work!!

    (now, if only he’d ADHERE TO IT!!) Oh, but that’s GOD’s job…not mine.

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Pete Wilson Says:

    I hate it when you take my stuff and say it better than I do. 🙂 Just kidding. Great post.

  4. Great post, Eve. Recognizing ways in which we can improve our lives (and the lives of others in the process) is half the battle. Great job of recognizing what you want to do and then doing it. However, I don’t think your as bad at this as you think. I should know…

  5. @Jenn, ah, let’s not forget listening to God’s point of view. Great reminder – and most important, I might add!

    @Deb, let me know what your “bonus” son has to say. Oh, and I LOVE that you refer to him as a bonus – what a blessing!!

    @Pete, such a great series, such a great message!! You rock!

    @Charlie, You’re too sweet to me! I don’t deserve ya, but glad I have ya non-the less!!

  6. heidi Says:

    WOW…. gulp… WOW!!

    Thank you for kicking me in the buttocks!!

  7. @Heidi, you crack me up. Oh, and it kicked me in the buttocks, too!!!!!! Love that word – BUTTOCKS!

  8. Hope Says:

    Found your blog through a comment you left on Heidi’s blog! It’s beautiful and thought provoking – every single word!

  9. @Hope, thanks so much for your kind words. I really enjoyed your post today, too.

  10. My mother was a kindergarten teacher and one of the first things that she would teach her pupils each year was that LISTEN and SILENT had the same letters. I think that it is one of the best lessons that she ever taught me…


Leave a Reply

