Eve Annunziato

HAPPY HOLY HUDDLE November 24, 2008

As we head into our season of Thanksgiving I have the obvious attitude of gratitude: A heavenly father who loves me unconditionally in spite of my faults, my cherished family and few close friends who love me unconditionally in spite of my faults, and a lifestyle I don’t deserve yet yearn to appreciate. But this post isn’t about that stuff or my invaluable community of loved ones all of whom are quite lovable. Rather, this challenge is about those I haven’t yet met but whom I aspire to love.

The honest raw truth, I have a horrible habit of remaining in my Happy Holy Huddle. In order to keep a balanced lifestyle, I intentionally singularly invest in and surround my self with those dearest to my heart. I’m often asked, “Eve, when are you going to Twitter, or sign-up on Facebook (or Face-Space as my father often refers to it) in order to stay connected with others?” My answer, “Never!” More connected, are you kidding me?! Please, I’m most joyful and content disconnected from the outside world. I’m most comfortable circled up in my Happy Holy Huddle. But, isn’t that contrary of how we’re actually called to form authentic community?

“The goal of the Christian life is to love well. Jesus was aware that true spirituality included not only loving God, but also the skill of loving others maturely… Growing into an emotionally mature Christian person includes experiencing each individual, including myself as sacred, or as Martin Buber, great Jewish theologian put it, as a ‘Thou’ rather than an ‘It’… According to Buber, ‘We treat people as an It when we use them as means to an end or as objects. We treat people as a Thou when we recognize each person as a separate human being made in God’s image and treat them with dignity and respect.’”
Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero

Frankly, I’ve been processing this meaningful devotion since I encountered the truth a few weeks ago during my quiet time. These words pierced my heart with a dagger of conviction. It’s my prayer this holiday season to disassemble my huddle, disconnect from my contented spirit and start loving those I haven’t yet met.

Sure, I’ll still continue to guard my heart from getting more bombarded, busier, noisier, and more indebted to the virtual Cyber World (Not judging anyone who chooses to go this route to build community, including my sweet husband, but just setting a personal boundary not intended for everyone!). I’m striving to reach out more, build deeper relationships, and experience life, with even those outside my convenient circle of familiarity. There are plenty of opportunities we encounter in order to engage and extend a gracious heart. This Happy Thanksgiving, I’m giving thanks for my existing relationships and my prospective interactions whilst far from my Happy Holy Huddle!

On another personal note, congratulations to my loving husband and favorite weatherman! He was just awarded two Television Emmy nominations: an honor he’s most humble and grateful to receive. I’m quite excited for my already two-time Emmy award winner and am thrilled about these recent Emmy nods! Good luck, and I’m so very proud of you, baby!

 

11 Responses to “HAPPY HOLY HUDDLE”

  1. tam Says:

    first off…CONGRATS to the Hubs! that is so very cool!

    and wanted to say that this last summer Brent (inworship) and i broke out of our huddle. it was an intention of ours to do so. much for the same reasons you are. and i have to say – i am so glad we did. we have met some of the most amazing people. we’ve gone to places we normally would not have and have rubbed shoulders with people who dont go to church or believe what we believe. we’ve had some intense, deep conversations that have stretched us and our new found friends.

    anyway – just wanted to say i understand and relate so well to what you wrote here.

  2. Tam – this is awesome, so very healthy and so very obedient!! Thanks for sharing your encouraging words. This gives me even more incentive and more momentum to move forward!!! I hope to follow your lead!! Especially, starting conversations with those unchurched. That part really excites me!!!!!!

  3. Pete Wilson Says:

    Great post Eve! I think you’re right on.

    And way to go Charlie! You rock dude!

  4. mandy Says:

    eve, thanks for sharing your heart. alot of what your are saying has been on my heart this season of thanksgiving as well. we can pray for each other as we embark on new things God has in store. 🙂

    and congrats Charlie!!!! 🙂

  5. Awww….Eve, I think you’re a wonderfully LOVABLE person…. and not that I hang w/you or even know you THAT well, but I did have the privilege to teach Gentry and just by his loving nature and attitude, I knew he had GREAT parents…. it spoke volumes! And now Kyla is around Oharah (I don’t think I ever spell or say that right-sorry) and she ADORES her…. so we’re connected in many ways. You and Charlie are BOTH fabulous…. and congrats to Charlie… he IS the best weatherman… 🙂

  6. heidi Says:

    Congrats on the hubby factor whoo-hoo.

    I am total believer in talking to those outside of our “huddle”, Honestly, this is not a huge task for me. EXCEPT, if that outer circle wants to get close. I literally have my closest 5 people and that’s it. So me to share my deep insides would be my growth.

    It’s amazing that you chose the holidays to reak away when we often chose our huddles during the holiday season.

    I’ll be praying for you!! Let us know how God changed your life with this!!!

  7. Thanks, guys for your congrats. Charlie appreciates your encouraging words – way too kind!

    I hope all of you have a wonderful and happy Thanksgiving!! Safe travels!

  8. holly Black Says:

    Hi Eve!

    Great post! Give Charlie a BIG congrats from Ian and I.
    So excited to hear you are branching out of your “huddle”, but I am so blessed to be a part of your inner circle.
    You are making the right choice not to get sucked into facebook. It’s fun, but very addicting and probably a little unhealthy!

  9. holly Says:

    hee hee – you are the only one that I know that will still remain connected with others regardless of twittering or facebook! 🙂 You don’t need that because it’s built into your dna! 🙂

    Seriously, great post – I was just having this conversation with a dear college friend. Another of our friends kind of refuses to “hang out” with our old college group because not all are christians (among other reasons). I take the stance that I love being able to hang out with them and live the way I would anyway regardless of their beliefs – sooner or later they’ll ask me why or what changed in my life. No sense in convincing the choir – take it to the streets girl! 🙂 Good luck breaking up the huddle! BTW: does distance count? You can always come huddle with me anytime you want! 🙂

  10. Holly B – I think you’re right – I could get sucked into it and I don’t need any more noise. A personal choice not for everyone!! I love receiving your comments – thanks as always!!

    Holly V – this is such a sweet comment, especially coming from one of the most “inclusive” friends I have ever met!!!!!!!!! You surround yourself with such a diverse group of wonderful people, probably because you’re not judgmental and you’re not “caddy!” Great qualities that are very attractive.

    I’m proud of your stance, you go! No, happy holy huddle for Holly!!!!

    We’ll call you again to Skype. Charlie was excited to Skype ya last night, he really gets into it (okay, that sounded kind of weird!!!).

  11. While researching a book I am writing–this chapter is on getting out of our comfort zones–I ran across your blog. I totally agree. Because my husband have been challenged to get out of the holy huddle, we left traditional church ministry and are now working on getting a Christian coffee shop going. Our goal is to minister to hurting people who might never set foot in church. It’s one of the most exciting things we’ve every done. Thanks for the words of encouragement.


Leave a Reply

