Eve Annunziato

STILL THE SAME SINNER September 29, 2008

Filed under: Just thinking... — Eve Annunziato @ 2:04 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Just returned from my High School reunion back in Philadelphia.  We had such a wonderful time and I enjoyed being reunited with my amazing friends – especially my best friends that I still remain in touch with and continue to do life beside.  Each reunion, I’m in charge of  “check-in” and I enjoy and look forward to my designated post.  I get to welcome all that walk in the door and hand them their nametag.  Although, we have a graduating class of almost 600, I pride myself of knowing and recognize almost everyone who enters – probably because I used to socialize with my peers and talked to everyone and anyone who would listen.   (I know those of you who know me find that very difficult to imagine!). I had so many great conversations and lovely visits during the pre-party the night before, the party, and the after-party.  And, I could post every day for weeks sharing many funny stories as we waxed poetically over many memories with these  inspiring friends.   But there’s one conversation, which I took to heart.

I was talking to a good friend of mine who I’ve known since 6th grade.  He’s a person I occasionally keep in touch with over the years and consider someone I can trust – a guy of character and integrity as well as a wonderful father and husband to his beautiful family.  He was telling me that he reads my blog, but that at times it’s hard for him to think of me as Christian when he vividly remembers the free spirited, risk taking, fearless, wild, energized girl who did this and that in her past (I would gladly list specifics, but my parents are my most loyal readers so I will spare them the details – although I’m sure they know more than they like to admit!). I smiled and listened, and said, “But, I do self disclose some of my failures and imperfections in my posts.”  He agreed, reiterating that I do allude to my pitfalls and that does help.  I would have liked to continue a further and deeper dialogue, but we were abruptly interrupted by the chaos and excitement of the evening.

On the flight home I started to unpack his words.  He made a fair and valid point that provokes much pondering. He made a comment many want to make to many Christ followers.  How can we, as Christians, claim to follow the God of the universe with all of our imperfections and inadequacies? Now, if I were to tell you that my sin was instantly alleviated, disappeared into thin air, I would be a big, fat liar!  The fact is, Pre-Christian I was a sinner.  I made mistakes. I made stupid decisions. I took too many risks and had the tendency to be wild and care free.  As for my Christian life now? I’m still a sinner. I still make mistakes. I still make bad decisions.  I take too many risks and have the tendency to be free-spirited.  You see, I have the same temptations and challenges that have always caused me to stumble. Fortunately for me, for all of us, there’s a God that allows for my redemption, renovation, and transformation, the same God of grace and mercy and Agape love who cares about me more than I deserve.

My very wise pastor teaches, “Good people DO NOT go to heaven, FORGIVEN people do.”  In other words, our laurels can’t lead us to eternal life, but our hearts certainly can. After all, even after we confess Christ into our life, aren’t we all still the same sinner?

 

10 Responses to “STILL THE SAME SINNER”

  1. Tracy Says:

    No, you are not the same sinner, you are a washed, cleansed by the blood of Jesus, born again sinner under grace– Romans 6:14, which gives us the power to run to His throne, confess, repent and be forgiven and live out His mission before others who need to see His redemptive love at work in our lives!
    At my reunion the saddest thing a girl said to me was that I looked exactly the same……I wanted her to see that I was completely different! Love this post….and YOU!

    -still waiting for my Oharah video!

  2. Holly Says:

    Great post! I can soooo see you being the “check-in” girl. 🙂 I think what bothers me most about being the “same sinner” is that normally it is other christians doing the finger pointing. My “secular” friends may notice a change, but love me for who I am regardless of what they perceive my faith to be. Those who judge me solely on my “christian” status (typically people who don’t me well) are just waiting for me to stumble – to call me a hypocrite. I’m far from perfect, but I am forgiven. Praise God!

  3. Jenn Says:

    I often use the phrase ‘if my high school friends could see me now’ and then finish off with something specific. I have evolved so much in the short time from high school and I think they would be in shock. This post is a great reminder that we all have sin in our lives…some more noticeable that others. The great thing is that through Christ, we can show others how HE transforms us!

  4. Traci, Holly and Jenn, I LOVE your comments – really great points. And, so very true. Thank God for transformation. Thanks for sharing, girls.

    I love all of you and don’t want you guys to change anything about YOU!

  5. melissa1970 Says:

    This is a great post. I think people who maybe don’t yet trust in Jesus want to know that we are real and honest. We haven’t forgotten about our pasts just because we have been forgiven….but we grow out of our past sin to become who God designed us to be…..still imperfect, but completely desiring to please Him and to right our wrongs (everyday).

  6. I agree, Melissa. Why do some Christians think we need to pretend to be perfect? Who buys that? I love your, “completely desiring to please Him.” Great point!

  7. Pete Wilson Says:

    I have to deal with this almost every weekend as old school buddies and ex-girlfriends show up at CP. I get a kick out of the fact that they get to see the transformation of what God has and is doing in my life.

    And tell your friend your still the crazy, wild, fearless, risk taking girl. Your risk are just for a different cause these days.

  8. That’s funny, Pete!! I’m sending him your comment!!!!! Very well put.

  9. You Know Who Says:

    I only read your blog to see if I’m ever mentioned. Now that I have, I’m done. As the great Rocky Balboa once said, “If I can change, and you can change, everybody can change”.

  10. Love that quote, You Know Who! Oh, and don’t stop reading because ya never know – I might mention you again!


Leave a Reply

