Eve Annunziato

Am I God’s Gift To Serving? August 13, 2008

Filed under: Ministry — Eve Annunziato @ 2:16 am
Tags: , , , , ,

There was a time when I thought God and the church were lucky to have me. In other words, I was God’s gift to serving! “Boy! Are they fortunate to have Eve Annunziato on their team!” It didn’t take me long to realize I had it all wrong; all sorts of backwards. On the contrary, when I serve, I’m blessed. I’m also filled with joy, hope and love and I’m granted the immense gift of giving that brings me satisfaction and purpose. The bottom line: God doesn’t need me to serve. I need Him. The following devotional by author John Piper really spoke to my heart about this very subject.

“Serving God is utterly different from serving anyone else. God is extremely jealous that we understand this – and enjoy it. For example, he commands us, ‘Serve the Lord with gladness’ in Psalm 100:2. There is a reason for this gladness. It is given in Acts 17:25 God is not served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all men life and breath and everything. We serve him with gladness because we do not bear the burden of meeting his needs. Rather, we rejoice in a service where he meets our needs.”

The point is plain: Serving God is receiving the blessing, receiving the joy and receiving the benefit. Serving Him is not a giving to God, but an amazing “getting” from God. Am I God’s gift to serving? No, NOT QUITE!   Serving is a gift to me…

 

7 Responses to “Am I God’s Gift To Serving?”

  1. fullofboys Says:

    I was there too when I first started out as a leader. So many times I think we fail and burnout because we think it is ‘me’ who makes a difference. When we get our focus off God and onto ourselves we mess it up big time! Serving is a privilege and when doing it to God I get the biggest rewards that are not measurable.

  2. Wow, Jenn, you put it perfectly – such a true statement. Thanks for your contribution!!

  3. Eric Says:

    Eve,
    You and Jenn both have spoken to my heart through this posting. It is so true and speaks to my problems.
    Thank you both!

  4. melissa1970 Says:

    Wow Eve. I needed to read this today. This post helped put something precious into perspective for me. I might have missed it last week, but not today. I’m literally aching inside to serve more…but not just any service….not just to serve…..but I feel like there is a connection and a service opportunity that God is trying to make with me and I haven’t quite figured it out. I have spent some time on my knees in prayer, and in tears, longing for the right service opportunity. What blows me away after reading this is to see that what He has planned is a gift for ME. That’s just too cool.

  5. i think you’re exactly right, thanks for the reminder.

  6. Well, Melissa, that just made my day! And, I’m putting you and your quest at the top of my prayer list. Thanks for your comment. Your posts are always welcome!

    Brandi, I need this as a DAILY reminder!! Thanks so much for your thoughts!

  7. Randi :) Says:

    great post! 🙂 and a great looking blog!


Leave a Reply

