Eve Annunziato

Kung Fu Panda Part Two August 3, 2008

“You are too concerned with what was and what will be. There’s an old saying; Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift; that’s why it’s called the Present.”
Oogway (The Tourist from the Movie Kung Fu Panda)

As promised, here are my honest uncensored thoughts on the above ancient and wise philosophies from the latest DreamWorks cartoon:

1.  About Yesterday – let it go already! I’ve made some stupid and pathetic decisions in my past. There are risks I’ve regretted and paths I should have never traveled. But I have news for ya, in the eyes of your merciful, all loving God of the universe, they’re over, they’re forgiven, they’re forgotten and buried on the ocean floor never to resurface. If our heavenly Father can, than why can’t we forgive ourselves? Recently, I’ve started to adapt this philosophy and sure enough, over this past year in particular, I worked hard to break this habit of tossing and turning over “Eve’s pathetic moves!” I’m glad I’m making strides and growing in this area; gaining more joy in my life and a lot more sleep!! Should I learn from my unwise choices? Certainly. Have a teachable spirit, acquire the knowledge, and then move on… After all, it’s history already!

2.   About Tomorrow – who knows? For example, my lovely and beautiful mother has cancer. There I said it. I despise even mentioning the dreaded “c” word. However, it’s a reality. We were once again saddened to find that it has resurfaced and reared its ugly head. Over the past few months, the bad cells have spread and she’s fighting hard as the pain has increased. Her next move is back to the dreaded chemotherapy treatments causing sickness, nausea, and many other negative side effects. Yes, Mom will prevail and I have complete faith will WIN the battle through Him. As I type, the kids and I are on our way to visit my family for our annual crabbing and beach trip in St. Michaels, MD, staying along the picturesque Chesapeake Bay. There we will love on Mom and tell her EVERY DAY that we value her, appreciate her and will fight with her. Yes, her pain breaks all of our hearts for no one wants to see our loving, thoughtful, caring, gracious, positive, uplifting, encouraging, friend go through an ounce of pain (I could spend all day listing her positive attributes to our family and the Kingdom!). This year we’ve traveled with Mom visiting great places like Disney World (at her request) and have seen her more over the last 12 months than in years past. We’ve decided to take her anywhere anytime and never take her for granted. Next, we’re thinking about a return to Europe. She loved Italy when we took her, and lately she’s mentioned Spain. When she is finished treatment, I imagine I’ll be booking that trip next! My point – what does the future look like exactly? I have no idea hence it’s indeed a mystery.

     About The Present – Our days are numbered and everyday is a Gift! So, go on and LIVE IN IT! Enough said.

 

7 Responses to “Kung Fu Panda Part Two”

  1. deanjbaker Says:

    interesting to see this, thanks

  2. patrowland Says:

    I hope this is a week to never forget for all of you!!! I’m sorry to hear that about your mom and I’m praying for you guys.

  3. Thanks, Pat, the prayers are very well appreciated. Have a great week!

  4. Jenn Says:

    Eve – my heart aches with the news of your mom. Your mom and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. We take time too much for granted and fill it with things that are sometimes not needed or important. Enjoy your time away!

  5. You’re so right, Jenn. Thanks for your thoughts – they mean a lot!

  6. Jenni Catron Says:

    Praying that you had a wonderful time visiting family and your precious mom!

  7. Thanks so much, Jenni.


Leave a Reply

